Everyone Cross Your Fingers

I had a good date.

I’m going to chalk it up to my Darth Vader underwear I wore for Revenge of the Fifth.

For my coworkers and roommates who follow the blog, I know you’re all dying to know. I was a nervous wreck at work yesterday. I know I haven’t talked about it much at work because I always like to down play dates until they go somewhere. But yesterday I was on a tight schedule. I had to go straight from work to practice to the date. We went to Lunch&Supper and we agreed on a 15 min window for arrival.

Back Story:

I woke up yesterday to tornado sirens, weather alerts on my phone, and rain pounding my house. It was awful. I would normally wear my clothes for my date to work and just freshen up before hand. But I didn’t want to risk it with the weather. So I packed all my things. I changed in the car at practice and went to find my make up bag and it was gone.

Panic ensues.

Its kind of close to that time of the month and my skin is on the struggle bus. I look blah and washed out and pale. Not a great look for a first date. So I talk to the other assistant coach who tells me it isn’t that bad. Just get some powder and mascara on the way. I immediately start planning things out. Target is on the way. I run in grab foundation, blush, mascara, eyebrow gel, and pink lipstick. I throw it on after letting him know I’d be there right at 7 and floor it the last 5 minutes to dinner. I drive past and see him sitting outside waiting and almost have a panic attack. He’s cute. I park and walk quickly. He sort of kept looking at me blankly as I walked up. But I smiled and he smiled back.

Dinner was great it was that type of date where you order drinks and start talking and forget to look at the menu. Fortunately I’d pretty much already looked at it at work and knew what I wanted and feigned interest while talking. I was so nervous I was bad at asking about him and I feel like I talked most of the time. I kept catching myself saying “uh” a lot. But he definitely seemed to relax and open up more as the date went on which was helpful. He smiled a lot and laughed so I guess that’s good. He even ordered dessert.

This is good right?

So a little bit more about him. He basically does risk assessment for a financial company in town. He’s lived in a lot of different places. He’s a little younger but not a deal breaker. Skipped a grade. Went to UVA. Played football. He has a little bit of a southern accent which I wasn’t expecting but is adorable.

He said he’s new to the dating thing and a bit of a workaholic. So we’ve only swapped email addresses so far. I have my email response drafted because I’m still a nervous wreck. I’m proposing grabbing a beer next week after work.

I’ll keep you posted.
Going to go puke with anxiety now.

Leave a Reply

