Do’s and Don’ts of Writing a Dating Profie

I’m going to throw my two cents in.

I know there’s probably a million articles and blog posts about this. I know I’ve read a few. But I feel like I need to say something. I’ve seen so many bad profiles out there. So many guys ask why I don’t answer them or look at their profile and don’t bother answering them. I really just need a link to a blog post talking about why.

Some people say the windows are the eyes to the soul.

When you’re dating online you don’t have eyes to look into, just someone’s profile. So keep in mind this is your first impression and dating resume. Bottom line, you wouldn’t show up to a job interview if your resume sucks. You probably won’t get a message back from a girl you REALLY want to talk to if your profile sucks. I’m not saying you suck, I’m saying your profile sucks. See where I’m going with this? Here are some tips.

Don’t lie.

You’d think this would be self explanatory. Its not. Don’t say you want a relationship if you just want to Netflix and Chill. I’m not going to answer people who don’t want a relationship. But I’m sure there are girls out there who do want to Netflix and Chill with you. I am not that girl.

Don’t type one word.

I know there are sections of profiles that make you type stuff. But don’t just type one word. It looks lazy. Especially if you typed one word to them in your message and your whole dating profile is all just one words. Similarly, don’t type “I’ll fill this out later.” or something to this effect. It’s also lazy. Your profile should make a someone excited to message you back. I’m not saying you have to write a huge long essay. But come on. ONE COMPLETE SENTENCE Y’ALL.

You’re not a prince.

Please for the love of god, I am not 5. Unless you are actually a prince, with a title DO NOT put “Prince Charming” or “Knight in Shining Armor” or anything to this effect ANYWHERE on your profile. If you are a prince with an actual title, you probably don’t need online dating.

Spell-check.

I’m not saying you have to be perfect. Lord knows I’m not. But there’s a level of grammatical correctness that’s kind of hot. It shows you’re intelligent, care, and are trying.

 “Nice” guys finish last.

If you feel the need to talk about how you’re so laid back or such a nice guy, you’re probably not. I’ve read some profiles that are like “I’m a nice guy” and then proceed to have some very aggressive language. If you’re a nice guy, you don’t need to say it because you talk about WHY you’re nice instead of just issuing a blanket statement.

Example: “I have a very laid back personality!” Followed one sentence later by “I can be sarcastic at times so if you get easily offended then please ask your parents why they raised a vagina.” Seriously, I can’t make this shit up if I tried.

You’re not nice. You’re not respectful. You’re not outgoing.
You’re rude.
(Sorry not sorry if I just offended you.)

This is about you.

Don’t waste time talking about what you want. We all want the same things. Someone nice, loyal, kind, respectful, funny, sweet, who shares your interests. You all want the same thing in a different order. Don’t waste time telling girls about who they should be. Tell them WHY THEY SHOULD DATE YOU. You don’t have to be that blunt. But seriously, take 20min and make a list of reasons a girl should date you or why they would want to date you. Then put it into a story like paragraph on your “about me”.

Need help writing your profile?
Shoot me a message on the dating application section!
I’d love to write your bio. 

Leave a Reply

